Umpires Corner Quiz No 1

QUIZ

See how you go with the following bowls law questions. The answers are in the Laws of the Sport, number quoted after each question. There is a law book on the desk in the office if you wish to use it, otherwise detailed explanation next week on the club’s Notice Board.

Yours in Bowls, Tom Hogg.

  1. The jack has been delivered and a player complains that the MAT is not up. What decision would you do? See law 6.1.3 and 6.1.4.
  2.  A delivered bowl is not a toucher but still has the chalk mark from the previous end. Who removes the chalk mark, once it has come to rest? See law 15.5 and 42.2.9.
  3. After a bowl has been played by each team, a player notices that the wrong team has delivered the jack. What should then happen. See law 9.6.
  4. During the course of an end a bowl is struck by another bowl and splits into pieces. Can this bowl be replaced and the end continue? See Law 31.2
  5. What action should an Umpire take if he notices a player persistently delivering his/her bowl before the previous bowl comes to rest. See law 11.2.2
  6. There are five recognised ways listed in the Laws of the Sport that a bowl is not dead, name them. See Law 17.2

    ***************************************************************

Answers to the Law questions.

  1. MAT; The jack has been delivered and a player complains that the MAT is not up.
    Law 6.1.3; If, after the jack has been delivered but before the first bowl is delivered, a player or the marker finds that the mat line has not been positioned within the distances described in Law 6.1.1, the opposing player must place the mat as described in Law 6.1.1 and redeliver the jack, making sure that it is centred, but the opposing player must not play first. (Playing of the first bowls goes back to the original player).Law 6.1.1; Before the start of play in each end, the player to play first must place the centre line of the mat lengthwise along the centre line of the rink, with the mat line (front edge nearest the far ditch) at least 2 metres from the rear ditch and at least 25 metres from the front ditch
    Also, note Law 6.1.4; After the first player to play has delivered the first bowl, no-one has the right to challenge the legality of the original distance of the mat line from the rear and front ditches.2. TOUCHES; A delivered bowl is not a toucher but still has the chalk mark from the previous end. Who removes the chalk, once it has come to rest?Law 15.5; If a player fails to remove a mark from a bowl before delivery and that bowl does not become a toucher, a member of the opposing team or the marker must remove the mark as soon as the bowl comes to rest.3.  JACK; After a bowl, has been played by each team, a player notices that the wrong team has delivered the jack. What should then happen.

 

 

 

       Law 9.6: If after a bowl has been played by each team, a player notices that the       wrong team has delivered the jack, play in that end must continue in that order.

(Law 9.5; If, before a bowl has been played by each team, a player notices that the wrong team has delivered the jack, the correct team will restart the end. Jack and bowl returned).

 

4.  DAMAGED BOWLS: During the course of an end a bowl is struck by another bowl and splits into pieces. Can this bowl be replaced and the end continue?

 

Law 31.2; If a bowl that has been struck by another bowl during the course of play splits into pieces, the end must be declared dead.

Note Law’s 31.3 & 31.5, that state the damaged bowl can be replaced only by another from the same set, if not all the bowls must be replaced.

 

5.   What action should an Umpire take if he notices a player persistently delivering his/her bowl before the previous bowl comes to rest.

Law 11.2.2; Is long winded, but basically, the umpire must first warn the player, along with the Skip. If the player continues the umpire must declare the bowl dead

As a player, you have no rights to the mat until the previous player’s bowl has come to rest, let alone deliver a bowl. See Law 13.

6. There are five recognised ways listed in the Laws of the Sport that a bowl is not dead, name them.

Law 17.2;

A bowl carried while inspecting the head,

A bowl that comes to rest with in the boundaries of the rink,

A bowl that is a toucher in the ditch,

A toucher that rebounds from the face of the bank onto the rink of play,

A toucher that comes to rest on top of the jack or another toucher at rest in the ditch.

A bowl that comes to rest on top of the jack or any bowls at rest within the boundaries of the rink.

 

Please at any time you have any questions just ask and I try to help out.

Tom Hogg