Umpire’s Corner Quiz No. 2

Both Philip Haythornthwaite and myself (your Club Umpires), have noticed on occasions the incorrect lifting or procedures of bowls to allow a bowl from an adjourning rink to pass through.

Actual Law:   Page 48 in the Law book.

37.6;   Bowl displacement by a bowl from a neighbouring rink.

37.6.1   If a bowl at rest on rink is in danger of being moved by a bowl from a neighbouring rink, any player at the head must choose whether to:

37.6.1.1   Lift the bowl at rest to allow the other bowl to pass and then replace it, as long as this action would not influence the outcome of the head; or

37.6.1.2   Stop the bowl from the neighbouring rink.

37.6.2    If during a singles game, a bowl at rest on the rink is in danger of being moved by a bowl from a neighbouring rink, the marker must stop the bowl from the neighbouring rink.

37.6.3    If a bowl that has been stopped was in its original course and was delivered on a bias that would have taken it back into its own rink, it must be replayed.

Clarification;     (My interpretation could be challenged).

  1. The interpretation of any player at the head is only those who are playing on that rink. The right to lift a bowl belongs purely them and not the team with the bowl running through it. As a general accepted practise though the team who’s bowl it is do lift bowls, but MUST ask permission to do so if not given must stop their bowl.
  2. Not influence the outcome of the head means any bowl that is part of the count or positioned that it could easily become so and of course the jack which must never be lifted. This is the reason that only those who rink it is would know if the bowl is a counter or not.

Conclusion;

Don’t be afraid to stop bowls the rink is yours, always ask if lifting a bowl in the neighbouring rink but also use common sense to keep the game moving.

Remember a stopped bowl is returned to be replayed under 37.6.3.

There is a degree though of sportsmanship that if clearly a bowl was going to end up in the ditch or out of the rink then the team who’s bowl it is can declare it dead. Not the opposing team.

Please feel free to ask either Philip or myself if you need more information on the above or any other matters in respect to the Laws of Bowls.

 

Tom Hogg